This CM at Yogi's feet to seek blessings defeat Atalji's niece

Rajnandgaon, Oct 23: In an unusual move Chhattisgarh CM Raman Singh was seen touching feet of UP CM Yogi Aditynatah who is 20 years junior to him. This ostensibly happened as Yogi is a mahant and Raman Singh sought his blessing after filing his nomination for the state election next month. The three time Chhattisgarh CM, 66, had joined Bharatiya Jan Sangh in in 1970s and became president of its youth wing in 1976-77. Yogi, meanwhile, was born in 1972.  

Raman Singh is the fourth longest-serving CM ( who is still in office), after Pawan Kumar Chamling of Sikkim, Pu Lalthanhawla of Mizoram and Odisha's Naveen Patnaik.

Raman Singh, who is seeking his fourth consecutive term, filed his nomination papers from Rajnandgaon Assembly constituency. Accompanied by his wife Veena Singh, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, party in-charge for Chhattisgarh Anil Jain and several other leaders and party workers, Raman Singh reached the district collectorate to file his papers. Singh's son and MP from Rajnandgaon Lok Sabha seat Abhishek Singh was also present.   The two-time MLA from Rajanandgaon constituency, Singh is seeking third consecutive victory from the seat. In 2004, he was an MLA from Dongargaon assembly constituency in Rajnandgaon district. Congress has fielded Karuna Shukla, niece of former prime minister late Atal Bihari Vajpayee against Singh from Rajnandgaon. Ahead of filing nominations, Singh told reporters, "I have full faith on the strength of party workers and booth-level workers. The BJP has dedicated this election to Atal ji and each party worker has vowed to form the government for the fourth consecutive term with a thumping majority in the state".When asked about Shukla contesting against him, Singh said, "They (Congress) did not get any local candidate..." Tuesday is the last day of filing of nominations for the first phase of state assembly polls to be held on November 12.Candidates from BJP, Congress and other parties also filed their nominations for the 18 seats spread across eightNaxal-affected districts of Bastar, Bijapur, Dantewada, Sukma, Kondagaon, Kanker, Narayanpur and Rajnandgaon, which will go to polls in the first phase.Chhattisgarh has 90-member Assembly and the polls are being held in two phases i.e. on November 12 and 20. The votes will be counted on December 11.

News24 Bureau/PTI