Celebrities contesting in Lok Sabha Election 2019: Shatrughan Sinha silenced, Sunny Deol leading

New Delhi, News24 Bureau, May 23: Lok Sabha Election 2019 results are going to be declared in a while and number of Bollywood celebrities, who contested elections are giving tough fight to the veterans leaders from their respective constituency. Number of celebrities including Sunny Deol, Urmila Matondkar, Prakash Raj, Kamal Haasan, Hema Malini, Shatrughan Sinha, Poonam Sinha, Jaya Prada, Smriti Irani, Raj Babbar, Kirron Kher, Babul Supriyo, Ravi Kishan, Manoj Tiwari, Isha Koppikar, Nushrat Jahan contested the elections. Today the fate of these celebrities will be decided.

Urmila Matondkar, Congress: Actress Urmila Matondkar joined Indian National Congress on March 27th and she contested from the Mumbai North constituency.

Prakash Raj, Independent: South India actor Prakash Raj, contested polls from Bengaluru Central as an Independent candidate.

Kamal Haasan, MNM party: The actor-producer-director Kamal Haasan, last year in February founded the Makkal Needhi Maiam party.

Hema Malini, BJP: Bollywood actress Hema Malini, who was seen campaigning across Mathura, joined BJP in 2004. This year, she contested from her seat in Mathura.

Poonam Sinha, SP: Shatrughan Sinha's wife, Poonam joined politics and Samajwadi Party this year.

Jaya Prada, BJP: Actress Jaya Prada joined the BJP party and fought her third term for Rampur, against Samajwadi Party-BSP candidate Mohammad Azam Khan.

Raj Babbar, Congress: Former Bollywood actor Raj Babbar, is the current Chief of Uttar Pradesh Congress Committee.

Ravi Kishan, BJP: Actor Ravi Kishan, joined BJP in 2017 and contested from Gorakhpur in UP this year.