BCCI welcomes appointment of Anil Kumble, Rahul Dravid on ICC panel

Mumbai: The Indian cricket board on Friday welcomed the extension of Anil Kumble’s term as International Cricket Council (ICC) cricket committee chairman for three more years and Rahul Dravid’s appointment to the panel. Former Indian Test captain Kumble, who was appointed the chairman in 2012, was given a three-year extension at the top post, the ICC said in a statement on Friday. Meanwhile, Dravid and former Sri Lanka skipper Mahela Jayawardene have been appointed to the committee, adding even more cricketing experience to the list of eminent people already on the committee. Welcoming the appointment, Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) secretary Anurag Thakur said the Indian cricket board would continue its cooperation with the ICC to develop the game globally. “It is indeed a matter of great pride that the two stalwarts of Indian cricket -- Anil Kumble and Rahul Dravid -- have been named in the ICC cricket committee," Thakur said in a release.  "The three-year extension to Kumble’s term as the chairman and the appointment of Dravid to the Committee is a testimony to the fact both BCCI and the ICC want to protect the interest of the game and use the services of the best.”  Dravid has been elected by the current Test captains as current player representative, replacing former Sri Lankan captain Kumar Sangakkara, who has completed his final three-year term. "Dravid, who has been coaching the India 'A' and India Under-19 teams, will be a great value addition to the committee," Thakur said of the 43-year-old, who bid farewell to international cricket in 2012. "His experience both as a cricketer and as a coach will come in handy. I take this opportunity to congratulate both these gentlemen," he added. Dravid is currently the mentor of Indian Premier League (IPL) franchise Delhi Daredevils in this year's edition. In the past, he also mentored now-suspended Rajasthan Royals. Jayawardene has been appointed as a past player representative and takes over from former Australia captain Mark Taylor, who has also completed his final three-year term.