Apex court denies relief to Uttarakhand rebel Congress MLAs

New Delhi: While issuing notice on their plea challenging their disqualification, the Supreme Court on Monday gave no relief to nine Congress rebel MLAs seeking to vote during the confidence motion by ousted Uttarakhand chief minister Harish Rawat. Issuing notice to Uttarakhand assembly speaker, the apex court bench comprising Justice Dipak Misra and Justice Shiva Kirti Singh directed the next hearing of the matter on July 12, saying that on that day it will consider the plea of the rebel MLAs for a stay of the judgment that Uttarakhand High Court pronounced earlier on Monday.  The high court on Monday morning dismissed the plea by nine disqualified MLAs, led by former chief minister Vijay Bahuguna, who had challenged their disqualification by the speaker under the Tenth Schedule of the Constitution providing for disqualification on account of defection. The confidence motion by Harish Rawat is set to be conducted on Tuesday.