Anurag Thakur elected as new BCCI president

Anurag Thakur has been unanimously elected as the new president of Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) today. The decision to appoint Thakur as the BCCI president was taken at a Special General Meeting (SGM) in Mumbai today. Thakur replaces Shashank Manohar in the top job.

The 41-year-old filed his nomination paperwork on Saturday at the board's Mumbai office and now has become the youngest ever to take over the president's role. Ajay Shirke will replace Thakur as BCCI secretary.

Earlier, Thakur was elected secretary in the BCCI elections last year, when Jagmohan Dalmiya returned as president. After the death of Dalmiya, Manohar came back for a second term as BCCI president. Manohar's decision to step down following the Lodha panel heat, paved the way for Thakur to become BCCI president.

Thakur had formally garnered support from all six East Zone associations - Cricket Association of Bengal, National Cricket Club, Odisha Cricket Association, Tripura Cricket Association, Assam Cricket Association and Jharkhand Cricket Association.