All eyes on swearing-in ceremony today, as Opposition unites to celebrate and indicate

New Delhi, News24 Bureau, Dec 17: The swearing-in ceremonies in Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh and Madhya Pradesh today is not just a swearing-in ceremony today. It is a symbol of many possibilities pregnant with what is in store in the coming days for the Mahagathbandhan. Ashok Gehlot, Sachin Pilot new captains of Rajasthan, Raje congratulates duo.

Ashok Gehlot takes oath as the Chief Minister and Sachin Pilot takes oath as the Deputy Chief Minister of Rajasthan.

Many big Opposition leaders are there to grace the occasion. 

Samajwadi Party (SP) President Akhilesh Yadav and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) Chief Mayawati will not participate in the swearing-in ceremonies in Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh and Madhya Pradesh today.

Last time the United Opposition seen sharing a stage was in Karnataka. The picture is etched in the mind of all political pundits as is seen as a formidable force to stop the Modi wave. And the assumptions are not baseless. The camaraderie is yielding results at frequent intervals. All elections after that are holding promise. This picture will be seen again on 17th December at the swearing-in ceremony in Hindi heartlands Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh.  Senior Congress leader Kamal Nath said he will take oath as chief minister of Madhya Pradesh on December 17.

The Congress has won 114 seats in the 230-member House, the poll results of which were declared on December 11. It has secured the support of a total of 121 MLAs, including SP - 1 and BSP - 2 legislators as also of four independents, to cross the majority mark of 116 seatsThe Congress is all set to kick off a new regime in Rajasthan with a gala oath-taking ceremony of Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot and Dy chief minister Sachin Pilot on Monday. Unlike in the past when it used to be low profile event at the Rajbhavan, this time it is being held at the historic Albert Hall.It will also see top leaders and is seen as a show of strength for the united UPA ahead of Lok Sabha elections in 2019. After the tussle between Gehlot and Pilot for the CM's post, a demonstration of unity between the two leaders will also be on show in the presence of Congress president Rahul Gandhi.

Many senior leaders across party lines were present in the ceremony. A galaxy of senior leaders at the Rajasthan swearing-in inlcude Puducherry CM V Narayanasamy, Mallikarjuna Kharge, Sharad Pawar, Sharad Yadav, Farooq Abdullah, Tejashwi Yadav, MK Stalin and TR Baalu among others.  

The event will see former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, leader of the Opposition in the Lok Sabha Mallikarjun Kharge and a dozen other Congress leaders in attendance.

With Agencies