Ahead of Chattisgarh 2nd phase elections on Tuesday, security tightened

New Delhi, News24 Bureau, Nov 19: Chattisgarh will go for the second and final phase of assembly elections on Tuesday as the maddening campaign came to an end on Sunday. Security has been tightened keeping in mind the vulnerable situation in some areas. 

The high-voltage campaign for the second and final phase of the Chhattisgarh Assembly polls, which largely stressed on the issues of farmers, jobs and corruption, came to an end Sunday evening.Details of the Second phase polling:Polling will be held across 72 seats in 19 districts on November 20. In the first phase, polling was held for 18 seats in the eight Naxal-affected districts of the state on November 12The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), ruling the state for 15 years, and the main opposition Congress fielded their top leaders in the campaignPrime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh and Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath campaigned for the ruling party on the last dayCongress chief Rahul Gandhi and BJP president Amit Shah had addressed rallies in the state SaturdayThe BJP top brass targeted the Gandhi family during the campaign for the "misrule" of 50 years.

Congress eyeing victory because of the anti-incumbency factor:The Congress focussed on farmers' issues, promising loan waiver, bonus on paddy procurement and setting up of food processing unitsRahul Gandhi also targeted Modi over the Rafale fighter jets deal and Chief Minister Raman Singh for the alleged PDS (Public Distribution System) and chit fund scams in the stateA total of 1,101 candidates are in the fray in the second phaseThe list includes BJP ministers Brijmohan Agrawal (Raipur City South), Rajesh Munat (Raipur City West), Amar Agrawal (Bilaspur), Bhaiyyalal Rajwade (Baikunthpur), Ramsevak Paikra (Pratappur), Punnulal Mohile (Mungeli), Prem Prakash Pandey (Bhilai Nagar), Dayaldas Baghel (Nawagarh) and Ajay Chandrakar (Kurud) and state BJP president Dharamlal Kaushik (Bilha)State Congress chief Bhupesh Baghel (Patan), Leader of Opposition in the Assembly T S Singh Deo (Ambikapur), Lok Sabha member from Durg Tamradhwaj Sahu (Durg Rural), former Union minister Charandas Mahant (Shakti) are among the key Congressmen whose fate will be decided in the second phase of polling

Ajit Jogi can topple the table for Congress:Former chief minister Ajit Jogi, who has floated the Janata Congress Chhattisgarh (J), is contesting from Marwahi, his wife Renu Jogi is in the fray from Kota while his daughter-in-law Richa Jogi is a Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) nominee from the Akaltara seat in the second phase of pollingThe coalition between the Mayawati-led BSP, Jogi's JCC(J) and the Communist Party of India (CPI) has added a twist to the poll battle between the BJP and the CongressIn the second phase, the highest number of 46 contestants are in the fray from the Raipur City South seatOf the 19 districts going to the polls on November 20, Gariaband, Dhamtari, Mahasamund, Kabirdham, Jashpur and Balrampur have some Naxal presence. Extra security would be provided in these areas, a senior police official saidIn the first phase, 76.28 per cent voting was registeredThe poll results will be declared on December 11.

With Agencies