2013 Assembly Elections was a sweep for BJP in Madhya Pradesh, situation challenging this time

New Delhi, News24 Bureau, August 6: The tenure of the Madhya Pradesh 230-member House expires on January 7, 2019 and the Election Commission is set to announce the new dates on October 6 at 3 PM.In Madhya Pradesh, BJP won 166 seats in the House and elected Shivraj Singh Chouhan as CM. All eyes are on CM Shivraj Singh Chouhan who has had many challenges to face during his tenure. The main one was from farmers of course. But BJP is hopeful for yet another win as the center is announcing one sop after the other for the farmers.The Madhya Pradesh State Assembly elections of 2013 were held on 25 November 2013 and counting was done on 8 December 2013. According to the State Election Commission, Madhya Pradesh registered highest ever polling of above 70% in 2013. The previous high turn-out in MP was 69.58 percent in the 2008 assembly elections.Along with other provincial elections, these were the first five elections in which the Election Commission of India (ECI) implemented a "None of the above" (NOTA) voting option, allowing the electorate to register a neutral vote but not to outright reject candidates. In a first, the Election Commission of India also appointed Central Awareness Observers, whose main task was to oversee voter awareness and facilitation.A total of 2,586 candidates had filled their nomination for 230 seats spread across 51 districts.Prominent BJP candidates included former CM Babulal Gaur (Govindpura constituency in Bhopal), Kailash Vijayvargiya (Mhow in Indore) and former PM, Atal Bihari Vajpayee’s nephew Anoop Mishra (Bhitarvar in Gwalior).Prominent Congress candidates included former Union Minister Suresh Pachouri (Bhojpur), leader of the opposition in the assembly Ajay Singh (Churhat), Digvijaya Singh’s son Jaivardhan Singh (Raghogarh), and Sachin Yadav, son of former Deputy CM, Subhash Yadav (Kasravad).The Results of 2013 Assembly elections were thus:Total number of seats- 230BJP- 165 (+22)Congress- 58 (-13)BSP-4Independent-4