Trending TopicsPM ModiBollywoodCricket


Shivraj Singh Chouhan’s First Reaction After Mohan Yadav Gets Picked

The BJP on Monday announced Mohan Yadav, a three-time MLA from Ujjain, as the next chief minister of Madhya Pradesh replacing Chouhan

Edited By : News24 Desk | Updated: Dec 11, 2023 19:44 IST
Share :
Shivraj Congratulates Mohan Yadav
Shivraj Congratulates Mohan Yadav

Congratulating Mohan Yadav, who was designated as the new Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh, former CM Shivraj Singh Chouhan said that the state will progress to new heights under the “guidance of Prime Minister Narendra Modi.”

“Madhya Pradesh got its new Chief Minister. Heartiest congratulations to the new CM,” Chouhan said while talking to reporters.

The BJP on Monday announced Mohan Yadav, a three-time MLA from Ujjain, as the next chief minister of Madhya Pradesh replacing Chouhan.

Taking to his X handle, Chouhan, who submitted his resignation to the Governor today, said, “Hearty congratulations to hardworking fellow @DrMohanYadav51 ji on being nominated as the Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh in the BJP Legislative Party meeting. I am confident that under the able guidance of respected Prime Minister @narendramodi ji, you will take Madhya Pradesh to new heights of progress and development and will create new records in the field of public welfare. Many congratulations and best wishes for this new responsibility!”

Meanwhile, the state will have two Deputy Chief Ministers namely Jagdisgh Devda and Rajesh Shukla.

Yadav became MLA for the first time in 2013 from Ujjain Dakshin’s seat. In the 2018 Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly elections, he was once again elected and became MLA from the Ujjain Dakshin seat.

Earlier on July 2, 2020, he took the oath as cabinet minister in the Madhya Pradesh Government headed by Shivraj Singh Chouhan.

Shivraj Singh Chouhan was the former Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh from 2020 to 2023 and previously from 2005 to 2018 and a Member of the Legislative Assembly in Madhya Pradesh from Budhni since 2006 and previously from 1990 to 1991. He is the longest-serving Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh.

Read More: Mohan Yadav: New Chief Minister Of Madhya Pradesh

Earlier in the day, BJP central observers Manohar Lal Khattar, Dr K Laxman and Asha Lakra of Madhya Pradesh held a legislative party meeting.

Madhya Pradesh went to poll for 230 assembly seats in a single phase on November 17 and the counting of votes was done on December 3.

The BJP, which had been battling close to 20 years of incumbency in the state, won a resounding mandate, bagging 163 seats, while the Congress finished a distant second at 66 seats.

Source: ANI

First published on: Dec 11, 2023 07:44 PM IST

Get Breaking News First and Latest Updates from India and around the world on News24. Follow News24 on Facebook, Twitter.

Related Story