Trending TopicsPM ModiBollywoodCricket


Lok Sabha Election Phase 6: Polling Begins On 58 Seats Including All Of Delhi

Over 11 crore voters are casting their ballots in the penultimate phase of the Lok Sabha elections across six states and two Union Territories, deciding the fate of 889 candidates competing for 58 seats.

Edited By : simran rajpal | Updated: May 25, 2024 07:25 IST
Share :
Lok Sabha Election Phase 6_ Polling Begins On 58 Seats

Over 11 crore voters are now casting their ballots in the second-to-last phase of the Lok Sabha elections, taking place across six states and two Union Territories. In Phase-6 of the general elections, voters will decide the fate of 889 candidates competing for 58 seats.

High-profile candidates will contest in the penultimate phase of the elections, including BJP leaders Maneka Gandhi and Manoj Tiwari, Jammu and Kashmir People’s Democratic Party’s Mehbooba Mufti, and Congress’s Kanhaiya Kumar, among others. The final phase of voting is scheduled for June 2, with vote counting set to occur on June 4.

Here are the top 10 things to know for Lok Sabha Phase 6 polling:

1. Polling will occur in 58 Lok Sabha constituencies across Haryana (10), Bihar (8), Jharkhand (4), Odisha (6), Uttar Pradesh (14), West Bengal (8), Delhi (7), and Jammu and Kashmir (1).

2. Simultaneously, voters will also elect representatives for 42 Assembly constituencies in the Odisha State Legislative Assembly.

3. All seven Lok Sabha seats in Delhi will go to polls, including North East Delhi, North West Delhi, Chandni Chowk, South Delhi, East Delhi, West Delhi, and New Delhi.

4. Prominent candidates in Delhi include BJP’s Manoj Tiwari and Bansuri Swaraj, Congress’s Kanhaiya Kumar and Udit Raj, and Aam Aadmi Party’s Somnath Bharti.

5. All 10 seats in Haryana are up for election. Key candidates include former Chief Minister and BJP leader Manohar Lal Khattar from Karnal, and BJP’s Rao Inderjit Singh and Naveen Jindal from Gurugram and Kurukshetra respectively.

6. Polling will take place in the Jangal Mahal region, a key area for identity politics, covering five districts and eight Lok Sabha seats. In the 2019 elections, BJP won five seats while TMC secured three.

7. Soumendu Adhikari, brother of senior BJP leader Suvendu Adhikari, will contest from Kanthi. Former Calcutta High Court judge Abhijit Gangopadhyay (BJP) will face TMC’s Debangshu Bhattacharya in Tamluk.

8. Polling will occur in the Anantnag-Rajouri constituency, which was postponed from May 7 due to adverse weather conditions.

9. In the last Phase 6, the Congress failed to win any seats, while BJP secured 40 and its NDA allies won 5. The BJP-led NDA garnered 51.36% of the vote share, while the INDIA bloc managed 28.66%.

10. By the end of Phase 6, voters will have elected representatives for 486 out of the 543 Lok Sabha seats. The final phase of polling, covering the remaining 57 seats, will take place afterward.

Also Read: Two BJP Councillors Disqualified In Amreli For Violating Three-Child Policy

First published on: May 25, 2024 07:25 AM IST

Get Breaking News First and Latest Updates from India and around the world on News24. Follow News24 on Facebook, Twitter.

Related Story