Trending TopicsIpl 2024Lok Sabha 2024


Congress Secures 3 Rajya Sabha Seats In Karnataka; BJP Gets One After Cross-Voting

In Karnataka, Congress won three Rajya Sabha seats, while BJP secured one due to a cross-vote and an abstention by its MLAs. Narayana Bandige from BJP a secured a seat in the upper house. The voting saw a turnout of 99.5%.

Edited By : Aniket Raj | Updated: Feb 27, 2024 19:23 IST
Share :
Rajya Sabha

On Tuesday, Congress won three Rajya Sabha seats in Karnataka, while the BJP got just one seat because one of its MLAs voted for the ruling party. Voting for four seats took place that day. Ajay Maken, Nasser Hussain, and GC Chandrashekar, Congress candidates, emerged victorious with 47, 46, and 46 votes, respectively, securing seats in the Rajya Sabha to represent the party.

Karnataka Deputy Chief Minister DK Shivakumar, addressing the Rajya Sabha election results, emphasized the unity and integrity of the Congress party. He expressed gratitude to MLAs, party workers, media, voters, Chief Minister, AICC President, Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi, and Mallikarjun Kharge for the victory of all Congress candidates.

In Karnataka, Narayana Bandige from the BJP secured a seat in the Upper House. The BJP faced a significant setback in the state when its MLA ST Somashekar voted for Congress candidate Ajay Maken, and another MLA Arbail Shivaram Hebbar chose to abstain from voting.

Also Read: Rajya Sabha Election: Mini Election, Double Tension; SP MLAs Extend Their Support To BJP In UP

The voting concluded with an impressive turnout of 99.5%, as 222 out of 223 eligible voters cast their votes. Five candidates competed for the four available seats in the elections, with JD(S) contestant D Kupendra Reddy among them.

Later, The Karnataka BJP announced that they plan to lodge a complaint with Karnataka Assembly Speaker UT Khadar concerning party MLA ST Somashekar’s purported cross-voting in favor of Congress during the Rajya Sabha polls. Additionally, the party intends to file a complaint against Shivaram Hebbar, who abstained from voting.

Also Read: Gunmen Open Fire On Punjabi Music Composer Bunty Bains At Mohali Restaurant

First published on: Feb 27, 2024 07:06 PM IST

Get Breaking News First and Latest Updates from India and around the world on News24. Follow News24 on Facebook, Twitter.

Related Story
Exit mobile version