Tuesday, February 7, 2023

Latest Posts

MCD Polls declared, Who’s going to be Mayor?

By Amit Kasana: The Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) polls 2022 results were declared on Wednesday, putting an end to a 15-year-long rule of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in the civic body.

announcing a handsome win of Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) who won 134 seats out of total 250 corporation seats in Delhi.

In the MCD polls 2022, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won 104 seats whereas Congress could manage to win 9 seats and others on 3.

With this, a significant question arises that whom will elected councilors choose as their Mayor. In political circles, there are a few names as the potential candidates for Mayor’s post.

Promila Gupta, a member of the Delhi Women’s Commission, Nirmala Devi, the state convenor of the women’s unit, is among possible candidates in AAP.

At the same time, the names of former mayor of South Delhi Municipal Corporation Kamaljit Sehrawat, BJP leader Rekha Gupta and former mayor of East Delhi Neema Bhagat also came up in discussion from the saffron party.

However, neither of the two parties have yet opened their cards in this regard. There is no official confirmation of the mayor’s names from any party yet.

Sources informed that the AAP will choose a candidate with everyone’s consent. It may also deliberate over the selection of candidate after the Himachal and Gujarat assembly results will be declared.

In a list of potential candidates for mayor’s post, the name of AAP Senior leader and MLA from Kalkaji, Atishi also appeared.

But if political experts are to be believed, Atishi is currently an MLA from Kalkaji and only a corporation member can become mayor. It should be noted that the selected corporators can vote to choose mayor.

Woman mayor mandatory for 1st year 

According to the Municipal Corporation of Delhi Act, the tenure of the Mayor here is only for one year. Out of the five years tenure of the government in the Corporation, the first year is reserved for the women corporator, while the third year is reserved for the Scheduled Caste corporator. In the remaining three years, a councilor of any category and caste can become mayor.

Latest Posts

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -