Thursday, February 2, 2023

Latest Posts

Delhi Mayor Polls: Councillors push each other, raise slogans in Civic Centre

New Delhi: The Civic Centre in Delhi witnessed a huge ruckus before the commencement of voting for the Mayor post. Delhi is set to elect its first solo mayor in ten years after the Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) was unified last year.

In the latest, Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has won the Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) election with 134 seats.

The Aam Aadmi Party has fielded two candidates, Shelly Oberoi along with Ashu Thakur. Rekha Gupta, a three-time corporator from Shalimar Bagh, is the candidate from Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) camp.

AAP has fielded Aale Mohammad Iqbal and Jalaj Kumar against Ram Nagar corporator Kamal Bagri for the post of deputy mayor. The AAP ended the 15-year-long rule of the Bharatiya Janata Party in the MCD elections held on 4 December.

Voting will be done through ballot paper

All the preparations regarding the elections have been completed. First of all, the oath of office and secrecy will be administered to the newly elected councillors. After this, the mayor and deputy mayor will be elected through ballot paper from 11 AM.

Lieutenant Governor of Delhi VK Saxena has appointed BJP councilor Satya Sharma as pro-tem speaker in place of Mukesh Goyal sent by the Delhi government.

Kejriwal made allegations

Color code has been fixed for selection. White, green and pink colored ballot papers will be used. In this, votes will be cast for mayor with white ballot paper. Green ballot paper will be used for the deputy mayor’s election and pink ballot paper for the standing committee members.

Delhi CM and Aam Aadmi Party supremo Arvind Kejriwal has accused the LG of being a representative of the Centre. According to Kejriwal, the Lt Governor is trying to influence the MCD mayoral election and is deliberately choosing such members so that the corporators turn to the BJP in a biased manner.

As many as 273 members will vote in the Mayor’s election. A figure of 133 is needed for a majority. AAP has 134 councillors. Apart from this, there are 3 Rajya Sabha MPs and 13 MLAs.

At the same time, BJP has a total of 113 votes including 7 MPs and 1 MLA. There are 9 councilors of Congress and two councilors of Independents.

Latest Posts

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -